1. The six phases of project management

This chapter provides a sketch of the traditional method of project management. The model that is discussed here forms the basis for all methods of project management. Later chapters go into more depth regarding a model that is particularly appropriate for IT-related projects.

Dividing a project into phases makes it possible to lead it in the best possible direction. Through this organisation into phases, the total work load of a project is divided into smaller components, thus making it easier to monitor. The following paragraphs describe a phasing model that has been useful in practice. It includes six phases:

  1. Initiation phase
  2. Definition phase
  3. Design phase
  4. Development phase
  5. Implementation phase
  6. Follow-up phase
Figure 1: Initiation phase: Idea | Definition phase: What? | Design phase: How? | Dvelopment phase: Implementation | Follow-up phase: maintenance

Figure 1: Project management in six phases, with the central theme of each phase